Return to Final Fantasy!

Yesterday, I finally got some progress in FFXIV after a week of not playing!  It felt nice to come back to this world I love.  I started out with my daily leveling roulette and got Sastasha.  It had been a long while since the last time I’d run this dungeon and it definitely felt weird returning to it while playing a machinist.  At those low levels I have very few skills and starting out at level 30 it was an adjustment to switch around my rotations.  There were lots of skills that are key in my mind that just weren’t available.  It was also difficult to manage my threat. It seemed like I just looked at a mob the wrong way and it suddenly wasn’t interested in the tank. I blame it on the fact that is was a gladiator. Marauder tanks are best.

ffxiv_08082015_113027

Once that was done I got some major headway into the main story quests. They sent me back to Thanalan and picked up the threads to the storyline right before Heavensward released. I won’t mention any story details because I don’t want to spoil it for anybody.  I do have a few non-spoilery thoughts that came up while playing through however. My love for Raubahn continues to grow.  He’s a very enjoyable character.  My first impression of him was a little indiferent. He was the stoic, battleworn general and you really didn’t get to see much beyond that. It’s now clear that he has many more layers and is a very kindhearted person.  You can tell just how much he cares for Nanamo and it’s enough to break my heart.  I’m incredibly interested to see where his story goes from here.

I have to say how impressed I am with how they’re handling the story.  In most of the other MMOs I’ve played, only the plot of the current expansion matters and if you haven’t played the others it really doesn’t matter.  But with FFXIV that isn’t the case.  It’s one epic continuing storyline and if you don’t play through the previous content you won’t understand the plot and will miss out on a lot of the charm.  The story from 2.0 can seem really long and make you feel like you can’t catch up, but trust me it’s 100% worth it.

Leave a Reply

